Love wins

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away. (1 Corinthians 13:4-8 ESV)

I’m surrounded by people who I know are loved so much yet they don’t see it. I see the friend who suffers with depression and know they are loved. I see the person who struggled with self worth and know that they are loved. I see the person who is in so much pain and know they are loved. I see the homeless man who appears to have mucked everything up and know they are loved. I’ve held the aids orphan who is just a statistic to the world and know they are loved. I know this because Jesus came and died to make a way for us to be with God who is love. That very act was love and it is open to all.

I am hurting and I am a broken man. Life isn’t easy and life is confusing. Yet love rises above that. What can we do but love? In a broken world where people hurt one another and we try and stick to societies standards of looking good and being somebody aren’t we all just after love.

For love conquers evil. Love conquers pain. Love conquers heartbreak. Love conquered death. God is love and love wins.

Friends it’s hard to love, especially when pain surrounds and fear is present. But love wins over these all things. Love wins over the many things we chase in life to fulfil that craving. All we can do is love. Love is not weak it is strong and it is our weapon in a hurting world. Even as I’m sat here writing this my sister who lost her beloved horse yesterday just came in and asked if she could get me some toast before work. Love wins. It truly does.

I’m rubbish at it but my prayer is that as I learn more that God loves me and I come to love myself I become an expert at love. It’s not gushy or soppy. Love is sacrificial and worthy of any man or woman.

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:37-39 ESV)

Leave a Reply

